Gatsby’s Garden

Gatsby’s Garden

“IN HIS BLUE GARDENS, GIRLS CAME AND WENT LIKE MOTHS AMONG THE WHISPERINGS AND THE CHAMPAGNE AND THE STARS.”

– F. SCOTT FITZGERALD

During my spare time I love to trawl through Pinterest Wedding boards, I’m obsessed with the newest styles and always looking for something fresh and a little different, which is when I came across Carol Hannah’s bridal collections.

Carol Hannah Whitfield is a self taught designer living in New York whose hobby of sewing blossomed into a profession – and it’s obvious as to why.

Her designs are a combination of romance, elegance and vintage with a real focus on detail, and each collection gets bolder and more sophisticated.

The dress I came across was Pemberley from the 2013 Gatsby Collection (I love the name), a 4-ply silk crepe with hand cut lace and open back:

A useful element of the website allows you to see the gown worn by real brides like Aäna who gives us a glimpse of her picturesque rural wedding in Minnesota wearing Pemberley:

 

I then moved onto her latest collection 2016’s Siren collection:

“I MUST BE A MERMAID. I HAVE NO FEAR OF DEPTHS AND A GREAT FEAR OF SHALLOW LIVING.”

 -ANAIS NIN’

Which includes showstoppers like Dynamene, an Iridescent silk sequin tiered gown in Mist:

CAROL HANNAH BRIDAL

And Naia a rose gold sequined skirt with blousy silk crinkle georgette top and
leather macrame strapping (I am huge fan of separates):

Naia,+main+copy.jpg
New York Bridal Fashion Week: Naia

I can’t wait to see whats in store for the 2017 collection…

Leave a Reply

